top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Green

My Chicken Jambalaya



Hey Guys!


I'm back again and here to share my recipe for Slow Cooker Chicken Jambalaya. Me and my partner have just moved into our new home, while we did cook a fair bit before we moved in together we now have a lot more meals to be cooking. This is the first recipe that I have tried making in my slow cooker and it turned out really well so I have decided to share it with you guys.


Every Sunday evening me and partner sit down and watch the NFL so we like to have a simple dinner so we don't miss any of the football. So I decided to look at some slow cooker recipe to make earlier in the day and let it cook throughout the day ready for the evening.


After looking throughout the recipe book I found a recipe for Chicken Jambalaya however, i didn't have all the ingredients matter of fact I was missing half the ingredients. Because at the time I was too lazy to go to the shop to get the missing ingredients, I decided to change the recipe and swap someone the stuff out for other items.


 

Here's the recipe:

Prep: 15-20 minutes Cook: 20 minutes pre-cooking 2-3 hours

depending on your slow cooker will depend on how long you need to leave it cooking. I cooked mine for 3 hours with stirring it every hour.


2 tbsp Olive Oil

2 Boneless Chicken Pieces (thigh and breast) cut into large chucky pieces (can add more is wanted; upto 6 pieces)

2 tsp dried Italian herbs

2 tsp Cajun spice

3 garlic cloves finely chopped

2 sweet peppers, deseeded and finely chopped

200g Chorizo (roughly diced)

600ml (1pint) chicken Stock

175g long grain rice

140g frozen peas


Start by preheating your slow cooker, if required. Heat half the oil in a large flameproof sauté pan over a medium-high heat. Season the chicken pieces with salt an pepper as desired, toss in the Italian herbs and Cajun spice, then add to the sauté pan (in batches if necessary) and cook for 6-10 minutes until golden brown. Remove and set aside.


Heat the remaining oil in the sauté pan over a medium heat, add the garlic and sweet peppers, and cook for 5-8 minutes, stirring. Transfer everything to the slow cooker, including the chicken. Add the chorizo and purr in the stock. Stir in the rice and peas, then season as desired, cover with lid and cook on auto/low for 2-3 hours or until all the liquid has been absorbed, stirring every hour.


Taste adding seasoning if needed, and stir in coriander if wanted. Try serving with some fresh crusty bread.


 

Question: What is your favourite slow cooker recipe?


See you next time

Jade

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page